Friday World Cup Predictions

Brazil 2 Netherlands 1 (AET) – Very difficult game to pick. I had Brazil winning it all but I have some doubts now after seeing how Germany and Argentina play. If Brazil can shut down Arjen Robben and don’t give him or Wesley Sneijder space to shoot then they should win this game. I’m going to gamble and say they will do enough to stop them. Luis Fabiano gets both goals including a 106th minute winner in extra time, while Robin Van Persie gets the lone Dutch goal. Both teams have had several cautious games in this tournament but I expect this to be a very open affair.

Uruguay 1 Ghana 0 – I’m rooting for Ghana to make it far and get Africa into the semifinals….but I feel like their speed will be neutralized by Uruguay’s stingy defense. Sure the Uruguayans had some dangerous moments against the South Koreans but I do not think they’ll let it happen again. This is an ultimate toss-up and I am not really confident in my pick, but when in doubt…..go with South America!! Diego Forlan scores in the 2nd half to send Ghana packing.

If things go as planned there will be a live blog of Uruguay vs. Ghana. Enjoy the games and join me tomorrow as John Harkes ignores the English language.

Sound off.....

