Yes, this is a baseball post. It’s incompetent umpire time! The New York Yankees hosted the Cleveland Indians tonight and in the top of the 7th with two outs, a difficult fly ball heading into the stands was dropped by left fielder DeWayne Wise. An out was called by umpire Mike DiMuro. Inning over. Wait what?
That’s right. Wise clearly doesn’t catch the ball upon replay but DiMuro calls an out anyway thinking he did catch it. What this video doesn’t show you is the guy in the red shirt who not only picks up the ball right in front of security, but proudly holds it up with DiMuro soon coming towards Wise to see if he did indeed catch it. DiMuro never asked to see the ball and pretty much figured it was a catch because Wise clutched his glove into a position where he made it seem as if he had the ball in his hand.
You would think the very first thing they tell you in umpire school in these situations is to actually see the item in question. NOPE! Mr. Umpire here is convinced enough from Wise’s empty (but folded!) glove and the top of the 7th is complete. It was probably inconsequential since it was a foul ball and the Indians lost 6-4 anyway, but holy crap is that gross incompetence. DiMuro should be suspended just for making such an obvious boo-boo.
I now leave you with our red-shirted friend on the far left of this screenshot. There was no second ball, he just caught the one DiMuro believed was in Wise’s glove.